APPLYMyRCC
student in a laboratory

Biotechnology

Biotechnology

Biotechnology is a rapidly growing industry and Massachusetts has the second largest number of biotech companies in the nation. The Biotechnology Program at RCC prepares students for various career paths in research, human health, food, environment, forensics, instrumentation, and industrial goods. The program also provides graduates with educational opportunities in current and emerging technologies in the biotechnology industry, hands-on lab experience and internship opportunities with renowned employers. Graduates have the options of obtaining a job or transferring to a four-year institution for future education. Resent graduates have found their jobs in companies and research institutes in the area or transferred to BS programs at public or private universities, including UMASS Boston, Boston University and Northeastern University. 

Biotechnology

Course Requirements

Semester One - Fall 2022 Credits
ACS102 The College Experience 3.00
ENG101 English Comp. I 3.00
MAT103 Pre-Calculus 4.00
SCI103 Biology I 4.00
SCI123 Prin. of Chem I 4.00
Semester Two - Spring 2023 Credits
ENG102 English Comp. II 3.00
IST120 or CIS141: Microcomp Apps 3.00
SCI104 Biology II 4.00
SCI124 Prin. of Chem II 4.00
Semester Three - Fall 2023
MAT111 MATH for Technology 3.00
SCI204 Microbiology 4.00
SCI206 Intro to Biomanufac I 4.00
SSIELECT Social Science Electives 3.00
Semester Four - Spring 2024
HUMELECT Humanities Electives 3.00
SCI207 Intro to Biomanufac II 4.00
SSIELECT Social Science Electives 3.00
There are many career opportunities in biotechnology. A Biotechnology degree may lead to employment in research and development (as biotechnicians and lab technicians); manufacturing and services (as manufacturing technicians and forensic analysts); and quality and regulatory affairs (as health and safety specialists and quality assurance specialists). Some graduates also pursue careers in administrative management as human resource specialists, sales representatives, and facilities specialists.

MassTransfer - Through the MassTransfer program, your Biotechnology degree from RCC transfers as two years of completed work towards at Bachelor's degree at most state colleges and universities.  Review the A2B pathways on the MassTransfer website

RCC also has articluation agreements with private universities that allow for seamless transfer to a four-year school upon completion of your biotechnology degree at RCC:

Biotechnology
First Name Last Name Title Department Phone Email Room
profile picture
Elizabeth
Stutts Biology Lab Technician Biology & Biotechnology estutts@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Patrick
Kearns Adjunct Faculty - Biological Sciences Biology & Biotechnology pkearns@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Elsa
Novoa-Ortega Adjunct Faculty - Biological Sciences Biology & Biotechnology enovoaortega@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Zulma
Davila Biology Lab Technician Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1514 zdavila@rcc.mass.edu 3-405
profile picture
Ali
Ahrabi Adjunct Faculty - Anatomy & Physiology Biology & Biotechnology aahrabi@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Georgia
Thoidis Adjunct Faculty- Anatomy & Physiology Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5173 gthoidis@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Jay
Joshi Adjunct Faculty- Anatomy & Physiology Biology & Biotechnology jjoshi@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Mark
Beaumont STEM/Broadcast Media Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5128 mbeaumont@rcc.mass.edu STEM
profile picture
Daveen
Blythe Science Lab Manager Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1517 dblythe@rcc.mass.edu 3-433
profile picture
Dong
Ma Associate Professor - STEM Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1354 dma@rcc.mass.edu 3-501K
profile picture
Young Bae
Kim Adjunct Faculty - Biological Sciences Biology & Biotechnology ykim@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Malcolm
Taylor Associate Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1357 mtaylor@rcc.mass.edu 3-401B
profile picture
Roumiana
Ivanova Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5162 rivanova@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Mohammed
Hussoin Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5159 mhussoin@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Bruce
Brender Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5121 bbrender@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Farida
Akhter Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5101 fakhter@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Milko
Ivanov Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5161 mivanov@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Amerline
Occean Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5203 aoccean@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Kimberly
Stieglitz Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1524 kastieglitz@rcc.mass.edu 3-401C
profile picture
Alfred
Gaskin Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5143 agaskin@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Eugene
Nebelitsky Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5200 enebelitsky@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Rasheed
Khalid Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5172 rkhalid@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Zineb
Berdjane Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5115 zberdjane@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Kristin
Laird Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1505 klaird@rcc.mass.edu 3-401E
profile picture
Carol
Conradson Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5127 cconradson@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Carl
Reid Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5214 creid@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Monireh
Esfahani Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1521 mesfah@rcc.mass.edu 4-332
profile picture
Kenneth
Presley Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5213 kpresley@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Gita
Venkatakrishnan Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5239 gvenkat@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Zorica
Djordjevic Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5134 zdjordjevic@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Stella
Uzogara Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5238 suzogara@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Sibaji
Sarkar Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5220 ssarkar@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Orland
Fernandes Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5140 ofernandes@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Jodel
Deauna Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5131 jdeauna@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Alice
Tamaccio Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5233 atamaccio@rcc.mass.edu
Apply Inquire
Open widget