APPLYMyRCC
students studying together

Biological Science

Biological Science

The program offers the coursework and laboratory experience in mathematics, chemistry, and life science needed to progress to more complex areas of study. Working closely with a counselor or advisor, students can tailor their program of study to fit the needs of most, if not all, colleges and universities offering a bachelor's degree in Biology. Also, students planning to transfer to a four-year institution before attending medical, dental, veterinary, physical therapy, podiatry, or chiropractic school will find all or most of the prerequisite courses needed for admission to these professional schools. Finally, students planning to transfer to pharmacy, medical technology, or optometry school programs that accept students after two years of undergraduate education will find all the courses needed for admission into these programs.  

biological science student

Course Requirements

Semester One - Fall 2022 Credits
ACS102 The College Experience 3.00
ENG101 English Comp. I 3.00
HUMELECT Humanities Electives 3.00
IST120 or CIS141: Microcomp Apps 3.00
SCI103 Biology I 4.00
Semester Two - Spring 2023 Credits
ENG102 English Comp. II 3.00
HUMELECT Humanities Electives 3.00
MAT103+ Math 103 or above 4.00
SCI104 Biology II 4.00
SSIELECT Social Science Electives 3.00
Semester Three - Fall 2023
HUMELECT Humanities Electives 3.00
OPENELEC Open Electives 3.00
SCI123 Prin. of Chem I 4.00
SCIELECT Lab Sci Elec See Hrs/Rec 4.00
SSIELECT Social Science Electives 3.00
Semester Four - Spring 2024
OPENELEC Open Electives 3.00
SCI124 Prin. of Chem II 4.00
SCIELECT Lab Sci Elec See Hrs/Rec 4.00
SSIELECT Social Science Electives 3.00

 

Biology associate degrees provide students immediate career opportunities in research and development such as technicians or research assistants. Many graduates transfer to a four-year school then continue their education to become medical doctors, pharmacists, physician assistants, nurses, physical therapists, veterinary doctors, dentists, optometrists, and many other positions in the medical industry. Other students choose to work in biotechnological and biomedical fields, or even zoological, botanical, and environmental fields. Finally, many recipients of this degree go on to train future biologists in a variety of fields as a teacher or assist in scientific writing and public policy analysis. 

MassTransfer - Through the MassTransfer program, your biological science degree from RCC transfers as two years of completed work towards at Bachelor's degree at most state colleges and universities.  Review the A2B pathways on the MassTransfer website

RCC also has articulation agreements with private universities that allow for seamless transfer to a four-year school upon completion of your biological science degree at RCC:

Biological Sciences
First Name Last Name Title Department Phone Email Room
profile picture
Elizabeth
Stutts Biology Lab Technician Biology & Biotechnology estutts@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Patrick
Kearns Adjunct Faculty - Biological Sciences Biology & Biotechnology pkearns@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Elsa
Novoa-Ortega Adjunct Faculty - Biological Sciences Biology & Biotechnology enovoaortega@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Zulma
Davila Biology Lab Technician Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1514 zdavila@rcc.mass.edu 3-405
profile picture
Ali
Ahrabi Adjunct Faculty - Anatomy & Physiology Biology & Biotechnology aahrabi@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Georgia
Thoidis Adjunct Faculty- Anatomy & Physiology Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5173 gthoidis@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Jay
Joshi Adjunct Faculty- Anatomy & Physiology Biology & Biotechnology jjoshi@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Mark
Beaumont STEM/Broadcast Media Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5128 mbeaumont@rcc.mass.edu STEM
profile picture
Daveen
Blythe Science Lab Manager Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1517 dblythe@rcc.mass.edu 3-433
profile picture
Dong
Ma Associate Professor - STEM Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1354 dma@rcc.mass.edu 3-501K
profile picture
Young Bae
Kim Adjunct Faculty - Biological Sciences Biology & Biotechnology ykim@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Malcolm
Taylor Associate Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1357 mtaylor@rcc.mass.edu 3-401B
profile picture
Roumiana
Ivanova Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5162 rivanova@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Mohammed
Hussoin Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5159 mhussoin@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Bruce
Brender Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5121 bbrender@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Farida
Akhter Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5101 fakhter@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Milko
Ivanov Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5161 mivanov@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Amerline
Occean Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5203 aoccean@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Kimberly
Stieglitz Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1524 kastieglitz@rcc.mass.edu 3-401C
profile picture
Alfred
Gaskin Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5143 agaskin@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Eugene
Nebelitsky Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5200 enebelitsky@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Rasheed
Khalid Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5172 rkhalid@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Zineb
Berdjane Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5115 zberdjane@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Kristin
Laird Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1505 klaird@rcc.mass.edu 3-401E
profile picture
Carol
Conradson Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5127 cconradson@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Carl
Reid Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5214 creid@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Monireh
Esfahani Professor Biology & Biotechnology 857-701-1521 mesfah@rcc.mass.edu 4-332
profile picture
Kenneth
Presley Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5213 kpresley@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Gita
Venkatakrishnan Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5239 gvenkat@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Zorica
Djordjevic Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5134 zdjordjevic@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Stella
Uzogara Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5238 suzogara@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Sibaji
Sarkar Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5220 ssarkar@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Orland
Fernandes Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5140 ofernandes@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Jodel
Deauna Adjunct Professor Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5131 jdeauna@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Alice
Tamaccio Adjunct Faculty Biology & Biotechnology 617-427-0060 x5233 atamaccio@rcc.mass.edu
Apply Inquire
Open widget