APPLYMyRCC
program

English

English

Students with an interest in writing and literature should consider majoring in English. Standard composition courses ensure students are well-grounded in fundamentals of reading and writing, and introduce students to research methodologies. Literature courses provide comprehension skills while enriching students’ cultural knowledge through globally-informed subjects, such as African-American Literature, African and Caribbean Literature, and others. English 101 Honors is a common gateway into the RCC Honors program. 

Student writing

Course Requirements

Semester One - Fall 2022 Credits
ACS102 The College Experience 3.00
ENG101 English Comp. I 3.00
ENG110 Intro to Speech 3.00
LANELECT Foreign Language Elective 3.00
MAT103+ Math 103 or above 3.00
Semester Two - Spring 2023 Credits
ENG102 English Comp. II 3.00
HUMELECT Humanities Electives 3.00
LANELECT Foreign Language Elective 3.00
SCIELECT Lab Sci Elec See Hrs/Rec 4.00
SSI101 World History I 3.00
Semester Three - Fall 2023
ENGELECT Eng Elect See Hrs/Recomm 3.00
ENGELECT Eng Elect See Hrs/Recomm 3.00
HUMELECT Humanities Electives 3.00
SCIELECT Lab Sci Elec See Hrs/Rec 4.00
SSI102 World History II 3.00
Semester Four - Spring 2024
ENGELECT Eng Elect See Hrs/Recomm 3.00
ENGELECT Eng Elect See Hrs/Recomm 3.00
ENGELECT Eng Elect See Hrs/Recomm 3.00
ENGELECT Eng Elect See Hrs/Recomm 3.00
SSIELECT Social Science Electives 3.00
SSIELECT Social Science Electives 3.00
A degree in English from RCC provides a wealth of transfer opportunities, into four-year Literature, Writing, and Education programs. Students with an interest in multiple languages can pursue subjects such as Comparative Literature and translation. Strong writing and rhetoric skills are essential in today’s world: students who develop these skills have an advantage when seeking work in the fields of journalism, social media, and advertising. 

MassTransfer - Through the MassTransfer program, your english degree from RCC transfers as two years of completed work towards a Bachelor's degree at most state colleges and universities.  Review the A2B pathways on the MassTransfer website

English
First Name Last Name Title Department Phone Email Room
profile picture
Patricia
LaFountaine Adjunct Faculty - Summer English & World Languages plafountaine@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Kamila
Kehoe Full Time English Faculty English & World Languages 857-701-1491 kkehoe@rcc.mass.edu 3-301
profile picture
Jalal
Chafiq Adjunct Faculty- Arabic English & World Languages jchafiq@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Natasha
Halfkenny Adjunct Faculty- English English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5175 nhalfkenny@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Vasileios
Ioannou Adjunct Spanish Faculty English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5182 vioannou@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Jeffrey
Breitenfeldt Associate Professor - English English & World Languages 857-701-1563 jbreitenfeldt@rcc.mass.edu 3-301A
profile picture
Amanda
Potasznik AdjunctProfessor English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5224 apotasznik@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Everest
Onuoha Adjunct Faculty - English English & World Languages eonuoha1@rcc.mass.edu 3-301B
profile picture
Seth
Jameson Adunct Professor English & World Languages sjameson@rcc.mass.edu English/ESL
profile picture
Barbara
Greene Adjunct Professor English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5151 bgreene@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Kurt
Odenwald Adjunct Professor English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5205 kodenwald1@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Susan
Kalt Professor of Spanish English & World Languages 857-701-1372 skalt@rcc.mass.edu 3-420
profile picture
David
Updike Adjunct Professor English & World Languages dupdike@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Kenneth
Tangvik Adjunct Professor English & World Languages ktangvik@rcc.mass.edu 3-420
profile picture
Patricia
Brown Adjunct Professor English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5121 pbrown@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Neil
Callender Adjunct Professor English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5124 ncallender@rcc.mass.edu
profile picture
Rhonda
Gray Professor English & World Languages 857-701-1561 rgray@rcc.mass.edu 3-332
profile picture
Susan
Black Adjunct Professor English & World Languages 617-427-0060 x5118 sblack@rcc.mass.edu
Apply Inquire
Open widget